skip to main content

ITC Level 3 Certificate for Forest School Leaders

Find a Course near you

/live/qualifications/FSA 200px width.jpgITC First is approved by and meets the requirements of Forest School Association

Note: FSA support is for the ITC First Level 3 Certificate for Forest School Leaders.  There is a separate process for FSA endorsing Forest School Trainers.  This logo cannot be used by ITC Centres at this time.

Level 3 Certificate

This qualification is intended to provide the skills and knowledge required to set up and deliver safe and effective Forest School programmes and for those who wish to become Forest School Leaders.

This qualification is composed of 5 units.


Topics include:

Unit 1: Woodland structure, identification of flora and fauna, and sustainable woodland management at Forest School.

Unit 2: Deliver, assess and evaluate a Forest School programme.

Unit 3: Application of learning and development theory, understanding of impact of behaviour to learning and development, holistic learning and development at Forest School.

Unit 4: The development of Forest School ethos supported by policies and procedures and understanding the ecological impact when planning a Forest School Programme.

Unit 5: Facilitating a range of woodland skills, including campfire management appropriate to a Forest School Programme.

Assessment tasks will result in each candidate producing a portfolio of evidence meeting each assessment criteria in each unit.


Typical qualification support includes:

  • Attendance at an event at an approved ITC Centre
  • 96 guided learning hours - for the FSA to recognise the qualification, 80% of the guided learning hours must be delivered face-to-face in a forest school context, i.e. not online
  • Assessed by a portfolio of evidence generated by Centre devised assessment tasks
  • Mentor support
  • Successful completion will result in the candidate gaining an ITC level 3 Certificate for Forest School Leaders

Downloads related to this qualification: